Teglkaas is a small, cosy cultural gem of a fishing hamlet, where visiting yachters are welcome in the outer harbour and the vacant berths in the inner harbour.
Teglkaas was built in 1850 and has been enlarged several times since. The new jetty in the outer harbour calms waves in the harbour and is frequently used as a bathing jetty by locals and visitors.
The harbour is a splendid setting for enjoying the tranquillity and magnificent sunsets afforded along the west coast of the island.
The harbour can be entered in nice weather and daylight, but beware of the large boulders north of the harbour entrance.
The small hamlet was called ”Tegl Kaas” around 1700, and ”Kaas Fiskerleje” (Kaas Fishing Hamlet) in the mid-1800s.
In the 1930s, there were around 20 commercial fishermen, primarily fishing for herring and cod.
The two smokehouses, which date to around 1900, remained in use until the 1960s.
Opening hours this week:
No opening hours available for this week.